You are currently viewing UK and US Lead Global Effort in AI Security with Revolutionary Guidelines

UK and US Lead Global Effort in AI Security with Revolutionary Guidelines

In a historic move, the United Kingdom, in collaboration with the United States, has taken a significant step towards ensuring the secure development of artificial intelligence (AI) technology. The Guidelines for Secure AI System Development, developed by the UK’s National Cyber Security Centre (NCSC) and the US’s Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency (CISA), are the first of their kind to gain global endorsement from agencies in 18 countries. These guidelines aim to elevate the cybersecurity standards of AI, emphasizing the importance of a ‘secure by design’ approach to AI system development.

The Collaborative Approach:

The development of these groundbreaking guidelines involved collaboration with industry experts and 21 international agencies and ministries, including representatives from the G7 nations and the Global South. This collaborative effort underscores a shared commitment to fostering transparency, accountability, and secure practices in AI development. The guidelines will provide developers worldwide with comprehensive insights to make informed cybersecurity decisions at every stage of the AI development process.

AI cybersecurity

Key Components of the Guidelines:

The Guidelines for Secure AI System Development are structured around four key areas:

  1. Secure Design: Emphasizes the integration of security considerations from the outset of the AI system design process.
  2. Secure Development: Guides developers on implementing secure coding practices throughout the development lifecycle.
  3. Secure Deployment: Focuses on ensuring that AI systems are securely deployed and configured to minimize vulnerabilities.
  4. Secure Operation and Maintenance: Provides recommendations for ongoing security measures to maintain the integrity of AI systems throughout their lifecycle.

International Signatories:

Agencies from 18 countries have endorsed and co-sealed the guidelines, highlighting the global significance of this collaborative effort. The list of signatories includes:

  • Australia
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Czechia
  • Estonia
  • France
  • Germany
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • New Zealand
  • Nigeria
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Republic of Korea
  • Singapore
  • United Kingdom
  • United States of America

Aiming for a Global Cybersecurity Standard:

The release of these guidelines represents a crucial milestone in the global commitment to secure AI development. NCSC CEO Lindy Cameron emphasized the rapid pace of AI development and the necessity for concerted international action. The guidelines seek to establish a common understanding of cyber risks and mitigation strategies globally, ensuring that cybersecurity is not an afterthought but an integral aspect of AI development.


The UK and US, through the publication of the Guidelines for Secure AI System Development, have set a new standard for international collaboration in the field of AI cybersecurity. As the world embraces the transformative power of AI, these guidelines provide a framework for building secure, accountable, and trustworthy AI systems. The global unity demonstrated by the 18 endorsing countries reflects a collective commitment to addressing the challenges and reaping the benefits of this revolutionary technology responsibly.

Read more at:

Leave a Reply